Twin Cities

Twin Cities (2012)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Twin CitiesTwin Cities began when Analog Jones and Guynamite first met at CDR, the legendary producers night at London’s Plastic People. Having decided to work together they immediately hit it off in the studio and had their first demo ‘Quarter Lebanese’ featuring Krystal Hardwick played on Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide show on Radio 1.

Guy Benton A.K.A. Guynamite is a classically trained musician with a rich variety of projects under his belt from arranging string sections through to producing hip-hop and arranging 80’s-tinged soul ballads. He has released his own music through Mukatsuku and other productions on Burntprogress, Guynamukat, Boglewaltz and FYE… Read more

Gareth ‘Analog’ Jones began as a fan and record collector before making music became an irresistible urge. Starting out as a radio producer, sound engineer and writer, the transition into creating in the studio with recording artists was a natural one. His solo material emerged on Sweden’s Flogsta Danshall label as well as Boglewaltz and Burntprogress.

Twin Cities draw on a very personal range of influences to create a production stamp that aims to have a long shelf life. Working with vocalists is their first love and on their debut album they’ve worked with Shea Soul (Joey Negro), Kia Bennett (D’Angelo) and Lena Cullen (Engine Earz) amongst others. The duo’s musical passions include African music, Latin rhythms, Jazmine Sullivan, Dionne Warwick, slow jams, Lover’s Rock, Prefab Sprout and David Axelrod.

With a limited edition single ‘Raincloud / Anticipation’ released on Mukatsuku; live shows and consistent radio support from the likes of BBC Radio 1 / 1Xtra, KCRW and NTS they have built up to the release of their debut album ‘Brand New World’, due April 2nd (April 3rd US) through their own Constellation Avenue label. They have already begun work on fresh material and have new collaborations and shows coming later this year.

Twin Cities also run the Boglewaltz record label and parties with one of their favourite artists, D.ablo. In the last few years their events have become notorious across London thanks to a freeform, quality approach to music coupled with an unpretentious, open minded crowd and a policy of booking out eccentric warehouse and rooftop locations. They have hosted a ‘who’s who’ of DJs including Benji B, NERO, Stretch Armstrong, Morgan Zarate and LA’s legendary Do-Over party featuring Aloe Blacc. Boglewaltz’s ‘We Came For The Music…’ compilation was a Mercury Prize Recommended Album on its release in March 2011.

Biography courtesy of Twin Cities.

Twin Cities on Facebook


01 – Twin Cities – Raincloud (feat. Shea Soul)
02 – Twin Cities – Behind That Door (feat. Aina)
03 – Twin Cities – Don’t Slow Down (feat. Ne’a Posey)
04 – Twin Cities – Anticipation (feat. Duchy)
05 – Twin Cities – Brand New World
06 – Twin Cities – Falling (feat. Kia Bennett)
07 – Twin Cities – Hurt Some Learnt Some (feat. Shea Soul & Skriblah)
08 – Twin Cities – Just To Be (feat. Lena Cullen)

Background music during the interview:

Twin Cities – Don’t You Want Me Back (feat.D.ablo), Massive Attack – Unfinished Sympathy, Twin Cities – Raincloud (feat. Shea), Twin Cities – Brand New World, Twin Cities –  Twin Cities – Don’t You Want Me Back (feat.D.ablo), Twin Cities – Everytime (feat. Donna Thompson & D.ablo)

Leave a comment

Spread the love