Soul Parlor 2015

SoulParlor (2015)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Soul Parlor 2015SoulParlor is a German based production and DJ collective consisting of Frank Jensen and Tobias Müller. Through their own releases, several remixes and two long-time club residencies in the Rhine-Main-area the guys have made their mark throughout Germany, Philadelphia, New York, London and Berlin.
They were involved in almost all of the tracks on their former label “Sense Music” and have so far released 15 singles under the names SoulParlor, Care Company, F, Callahan’s and also an album entitled “The Way We Talk”.

Their music productions were followed by DJ-bookings (a T-D1 sponsored tour in Canada and Germany with Atjazz, Swag and Rasoul) and remix-requests for such august names as Atjazz, Juan Atkins, Oscar, Swag and Gammat 3000… Read more

After a short break and reorientation at the “post vinyl” music scene the boys went back on the map with even more fresh ideas and power to move things forward.

Domu signed SoulParlor for his “Here Comes Treble” Compilation on Treble O with their forward thinking Brokenbeat Joint “Gee”, which turned out to be a big tune at the legendary CO-OP Club night in London. This was followed by a remix of James Brown on the well-known label GAMM, two 5-track EPs of soulful and jazzy Brokenbeat, which were released in 2008 and 2009 on the New York-based Label “Bagpak Music” and a contribution to Jazz singer Cecilia Stalin’s (Koop) solo project, which also includes works by Daz-I-Kue (Bugz in the Attic).

Thereafter Mad Mats asked for a release on his highly respected label “Raw Fusion”. This solid 4-track EP was completed by a massive remix from the one and only “Recloose”, and songs like “In Harmony” where supported by many DJs such as Dego (4hero, 2000black) around the globe.

The next exclamation mark in 2009 was another SoulParlor remix for Kay Suzuki featuring Colonel Red on London’s “Fresh Minute Music”. Highlight of the year was the joint venture with Stan Steam and Daz-I-Kue on the track “C’mon Rock”, which is featured at the “15 Years of OM Records” anniversary compilation and also had a play at the MTV reality soap “Real Life”.

In 2010 SoulParlor was signed by “Tokyo Dawn Records” for their upcoming second album “Evoluzion” (Release May 2011) including guest artists like Replife, Cecilia Stalin, Yannah Valdevit, Colonel Red, Oddisee, Stan Steam, Caits Meissner, Jacob (ex Wagner Love) plus additional Remixes by Dego (2000black/4hero), Afronaut & MdCL, Daz-I-Kue, Opolopo, Pure P and Souled.

On the same label they have already been part of Portformat’s remix LP, The Heart and The Boogie Compilations amongst artists like King Britt, Atjazz, Tokimonsta, Georgia Anne Muldrow, Flako, Nightmares on Wax, Opolopo, Andreas Saag and Comfort Fit.

In the meantime SoulParlor is going to contribute tracks to Stan Steam’s forthcoming album “Get Up Movement” and also working with Replife on his second LP.
With a main focus on Brokenbeat and soulful twisted House, their musical production as well as DJ-Set range also covers tasty UK-Funky/Garage sounds, terrific Dubstep, jazzy types of Drum&Bass and well selected Hip-Hop & Nu-Soul.

The Official Website of SoulParlor


00 – Intro – Soul Parlor – Under The Bridge (EP 2, 2009)
01 – Soul Parlor – Nostalgia feat. Capitol A & Leona Berlin (Smile, 2015)
02 – Soul Parlor – Bang Illy feat. Oddisee ((Pure P & Melo Remix) (Evoluzion, 2011)
03 – Soul Parlor – Nothing Ever Changes feat. Jacob And The Appleblossom (Afronaut & MdCL Remix) (Evoluzion, 2011)
04 – Soul Parlor – Robo Funk (Smile, 2015)
05 – Soul Parlor – Walk With Me feat. Rogiérs (Smile, 2015)
06 – Soul Parlor – Felin´feat. Replife (Smile, 2015)

Background music during the interview:

Soul Parlor – Feel The Power feat. Leona Berlin , Soul Parlor – Get It How You Want It feat. Stan Smith, Soul Parlor – IO feat. Leona Berlin, Soul Parlor – Rocketman, Soul Parlor – Wall feat. Erik Rico, Soul Parlor – Real Life (Opolopo Remix) feat. Capitol A

Leave a comment

Spread the love