O'hene Sàvant 2013

O’hene Savànt (2013)

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

O'hene Sàvant 2013Written, produced, and directed by O’hene Savànt, “The not so Brilliant Corners” is the first installment of O’hene’s introductionof the culture known as “HipBop,” or the Urban Classical Movement. Taking musical syncretism far beyond what most think of as jazz/hip-hop fusion, O’hene does not merely sample and loop the legends of the past, nor is he satisfied with only inviting instrumentalists to recreate a traditional hip-hop beat. Instead, Savànt lyrically dances with the music, using his voice in accord with the instrumentation – drawing on both his songwriting and music arrangement skills. Remaining true to the traditions of American classical music (jazz) and American urban contemporary music (hip-hop), this what O’hene describes as, “ghetto fine arts”. Always striving to be forward looking, he is the evolvement… Read more

In addition to his mentor Mtume, O’hene has shared his music with and received praise from jazz legends Jimmy Heath (who recounted his time with O’hene is his autobiography “I’ve Walked with Giants”), Jeff Majors (who collaborated with O’hene for the single “Trying Times”), and Dexter Wansel (who appeared on O’s 2008 “Without Words”) as well as contemporaries Mechell Ndegeocello and Robert Glasper. We believe fans of the above listed artists will enjoy “The not so Brilliant Corners.”

The Official Website of O’hene Savànt


00 – Grandmaster Flash & The Furious Five – The Message (The Message, 1982)
01 – O’hene Savànt – Earthquake (O’hene Savànt, 2013)
02 – O’hene – A Great Mind (The Rapademics, 2004)
03 – O’hene – Devils (Inner City Soul, 2006)
04 – O’hene Savànt – HipBop Thinking (O’hene Savànt, 2013)
05 – O’hene Savànt – Online Love (O’hene Savànt, 2013)
05 – O’hene Savànt – The Subway (O’hene Savànt, 2013)

Background music during the interview:

Reggie Rockstone – Me Na Me Kae, Reggie Rockstone – Keep Your Eyes On The Road, Manu Dibango – African Battle, O’hene Savànt – Grandpop’s Paradox, O’hene – It Is O, O’hene – Stupid Minded, Mtume – Prime Time, O’hene – Throwback Love, O’hene Savànt – 2Morrow, Milt Jackson – Au Privave, O’hene Savànt – Love Will Prevail

Leave a comment

Spread the love